Invercargill City Libraries

Invercargill City libraries Databases

Explore the future

To access most of these Databases you will need your barcode number handy..

Ancestry Library Edition Link (Access only from within the library)

Ancestry Library Edition(tm) a new genealogy research tool created for the library market. It provides patrons with instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases,
Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre, and MasterFILE Premier

The Reference Centre gives you access to international, Australian and New Zealand magazines and newspapers. Great for current events information

MasterFILE Premier gives you access to over 2000 major international publications such as Time, Newsweek and New Scientists. Great for general research

Biography Resource Centre
This database contains an extensive range of contemporary and historical biographies of notable people including some New Zealanders. It is searchable by name, nationality, and occupation.

BDM Historical records
Births that occurred at least 100 years ago.
Stillbirths that occurred at least 50 years ago.
Marriages and eventually Civil Unions that occurred 80 years ago.
Deaths that occurred at least 50 years ago or the deceased's date of birth was at least 80 years ago.

BreakOut
New Zealand's primary source of funding information for students, researchers, sports people, artists and those wanting professional development.Holds details of over 2200 funding schemes.BreakOut is a searchable database - the database will give you the best matches of scholarships, awards and grants you are eligible for in terms of criteria, level of study and discipline along with closing dates, application requirements and contact details.

Business and Industry
A multi-industry database with a global focus on company, industry and product information.

Business and Management Practices
An in depth information on the processes, methods and strategies of managing a business.


Contemporary Women's Issues
This contains a huge range of articles and reports on women's issues from professional and popular journals, and newspapers. It can be also searched by subject, for example, gender equity.

CorporateCitizens
the new directory of corporate community involvement
You can use the Search to find companies by the kind of relationship you want (eg sponsorship), the area you work in, a particular brand, business activity

Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
This website contains over 3,000 biographies of New Zealanders who have 'made their mark' on this country. It does not include people who are alive. So you will not find people like Helen Clark or Sean Fitzpatrick, but you will find people like George Nepia or Michael Joseph Savage.

DigitalNZ
Find, share and use digital content simply. Content from government departments, publically funded organisations, the private sector and community groups.

Discovering Collection
This comprehensive database allows for searching under a range of subjects including history, literature, geography, and biographies. There is also a multimedia gallery containing photographs, graphs, maps, and sound and video clips.

Encyclopaedia Britannica
Search the online version of Encyclopædia Britannica - including Britannica's Student Encyclopædia, Elementary Encyclopædia for younger students, and the Britannica Concise Encyclopædia. Includes current events, pictures and links to relevant Internet resources. Plus 5000 ebooks.

Eric Database
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. ERIC provides a public Web site for searching nearly 1.2 million citations going back to 1966 and, with contributor permission, accessing more than 110,000 full-text materials at no charge. ERIC is moving forward with its modernization program, incorporating new technologies to facilitate the addition of materials and help users identify, evaluate, and obtain education-related research and other materials.

Find My Past - Finding your family history.

Contact the staff at the information services desk for your login.

findNZarticles
Was launched on December 20, 2005 to provide a federated search to a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals

FundView
New Zealand's primary source of information about funding for voluntary organisations and contains over 600 different funding schemes.. It is a searchable database that will give you the best matches of funding you are eligible for in terms of criteria along with closing dates, application requirements and contact details.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Health and Wellness Resource Centre and Alternative Health module
This database provides authoritative answers to health and medical questions from a huge range of over 700 health/medical journals and pamphlets. It covers topics like mainstream and alternative medicines, nutrition, diet, fitness, and disease. It also includes an online medical encyclopedia and links to relevant websites.


History Resource Centre
WorldSearch this database for 20th century history topics history relating to America. It features full text articles from over 100 history journals, and includes primary documents, maps, and images.

InfoTrac OneFile
Containing 35 million articles and updated daily, InfoTrac is an ideal general research tool with huge topic coverage from contemporary art to science. Articles are available from a wide range of overseas magazines and newspapers.

INNZ -Index New Zealand
An index with abstracts from selected NZ publications

Literature Resource Center
This database contains critical essays and biographical information on over 100,000 authors, both historical and contemporary. A superb and comprehensive resource for students. It also includes information on major New Zealand authors.

Knowledge Basket
New EPIC Version of New Zealand Index. The "Search New Zealand Index" link on this page now points to our new version of NZ Index. The EPIC version includes New Zealand Woman's Weekly Index - an Index of names mentioned from December 1932 to January 1951, and NZ Herald Family + Notices - from their classified's since 2003. This brings the database to well over 2.2 million records.

Library Press Display
Library PressDisplay is a digital solution brought to you by NewspaperDirect, Inc. - the world leader in out-of-market newspaper and magazine distribution, enabling publishers to reach their readership through innovative digital and networking solutions.

National Library Resources

National Library of New Zealand
The National Library of New Zealand is dedicated to enriching the cultural and economic life of New Zealand and its interchange with other nations by collecting protecting preserving documents and make them accessible for all people in New Zealand. They work collaboratively with other libraries and institutions having similar purposes.

Manuscripts and Pictorial Collections
Browse digitised manuscripts and pictorial collections of the Alexander Turnbull Library, including 100,000 pages from the paper of Sir Doanld McLean and more than 70,000 New Zealand and Pacific images.

 

New Zealand Legislation
Acts of Parliament:

New Zealand Libraries Catalogue
"Find out which library has what"
The New Zealand Libraries Catalogue provides information about the items contained in libraries throughout New Zealand.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Useful database for exploring popular social issues. Opposing Viewpoints is ideal for those wanting information covering both sides of contemporary issues like the GE debate. Includes topical overviews and point-of-view articles. An excellent resource for those wishing to do in-depth investigations about major contentious topics.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the most authoritative source of information on all aspects of art, and is invaluable for a wide range of users from school pupils to art lovers and art historians.

Oxford English Dictionary
A searchable online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. Includes the full text of the 20-volume Second Edition, 45,000 new and revised words resulting from the editorial revision programme and at least 2,500 additional new and revised words every 3 months.

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the most authoritative source of information on all aspects of music, and is invaluable for a wide range of users from school pupils to music lovers, musicians, and scholars.

Papers Past - New Zealand Newspapers and Periodicals
Papers Past showcases selected 19th century New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The site currently contains digital images of over one million pages from 41 publications.

Proquest Science Journals
Access the fulltext of over 400 leading science and technology journals. Topics range from Acoustics, to Geology, to Zoology and everything in between!

Project Gutenberg
Over 20,000 free ebooks and Audio Books from authors such as Jane Austen, William Shakespeare, Mark Twain, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and many more...

Publications New Zealand
Publications New Zealand is a record of New Zealand publications listed in the National Bibliography, from books to films to maps. Use it to get information about published items with a strong New Zealand connection, and see which libraries have these publications.

Statistics New Zealand
People, Economy, Environment Statistics of New Zealand.


Student Resource Center - College Edition Expanded
The Student Resource centre provides cross-curricular information suitable for senior secondary school students. Students can search topics including history, literature, geography, and biographies. Also available is a multimedia gallery containing photographs, graphs, maps, and sound and video clips.

TableBase
This database provides access to thousands of hard-to-find tables of data for more than 90 industries.

Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand
‘Te ara’ in Māori means ‘the pathway’. Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. When complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.

Varcoe's New Zealand Marriages Index
The database is designed to be used in conjunction with the microfiche Marriages Indexes published by the New Zealand Registrar-General's Office, allowing the user to match up brides with grooms (primarily using the Bride 1 and Groom 2 fields, respectively) with their folio numbers. The database is therefore an index that does not identify individuals (after 1863) but points to the correct page entry where the partner of a groom or bride can be found.

Virtual Reference Suite
Explore a collection of encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources. Subjects include health, war, pollution, history, space science, maths, occult, food and fashion

What do I read next?
This excellent database helps you identify new books to read. Covers adult and young adult as well as children's fiction and nonfiction. Searching is by author, title, subject, genre, character, and topic. What Do I Read Next? also contains an extensive selection of award winning books, over 50,000 plot summaries and promotions for upcoming titles.

Wikipedia
The biggest multilingual free-content encyclopedia on the Internet. Over 7 million articles in over 200 languages, and still growing.

World Book Online
For almost 90 years, World Book has been committed to publishing encyclopedias and other reference products that meet the highest standards of editorial excellence while keeping pace with the technological developments that define the computer age.

 

Invercargill City Libraries LogoAbout Us   | Site Map  | Contact Us   | Phone Number 03-2111444 | Web Master | ©2003 Invercargill City Libraries