Browse the Calendar

Use the calendar below to navigate dates

loading
keyboard

Databases

 Below are links to databases and recommended websites, broadly grouped by subject. Some of the databases will require that you log in using the borrower number on the back of your library card.

Arts, Music, Literature

Business

Funding

Family History

General Reference

History and Biography

News Media

Science and Health

 Arts, Music, Literature

Books and Authors - Covers adult, young adult and children's fiction and non-fiction.

Literature Resource Center - Find biographies, information and critical essays on historical and contemporary authors, including major New Zealand authors.

Oxford Art Online - Find information on all aspects of art including New Zealand painters like Ralph Hotere and photographer Brian Brake.

Oxford Music Online - Find information on all aspects of music, including New Zealanders such as Malvina Major and Jonathan Lemalu.

Recommended Websites

Back to top

 Business

Business and Industry - A multi-industry database with a global focus on company, industry and product information.

Business and Management Practices - An in depth information on the processes, methods and strategies of managing a business.

Recommended Websites

Back to top

 Funding

BreakOut click here to access from home - Search for scholarships, awards and grants to help with study or professional development.  Includes closing dates, application requirements and contact details.

Corporate Citizens access from library only - Search to find companies by the kind of relationship you want (eg sponsorship), the area you work in, a particular brand or business activity.

FundView click here to access from home - Find information for voluntary organisations looking for funding.  Includes closing dates, application requirements and contact details.

Recommended Websites

 Family History

Ancestry access from library only - Provides access to census records, military records, land records, probate records, church records, directories, passenger lists and more. It includes New Zealand electoral rolls 1853-1981 and maori electoral rolls 1908 and 1919. 

Recommended Websites 

Back to top

 General Reference

Contemporary Womens Issues - Find articles and reports on womens issues from both professional and popular magazines.

Encyclopedia Britannica Click here to access from home - Find current events, pictures and links to relevant internet reources. Search different levels of Britannica using Elementary Encyclopedia for younger students, Student Encyclopedia or Concise Encyclopedia for advanced level of research.

Eric - Find full text articles on education material as well as citations to other related information.

InfoTrac OneFile - Find articles from international magazines and newspapers on a wide range of subjects.

Opposing Viewpoints - Discover both sides of the debate over contemporary issues like vaccines, global warming and vegeterianism.

Oxford English Dictionary - Find the meaning of a word like database in this full text dictionary and discover when words like ebook first appeared in our language.

Virtual Reference Library - Explore a collection of encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources. Subjects include health, war, pollution, history, space science, maths, occult, food and fashion.

World Book Online click here to access from home - This online encyclopedia contains information on topics from A to Z.

Recommended Websites

Back to top

 History and Biography

Biography Resource Centre

Discovering collection - Discover new information on history, literature, geography as well as biographies.  Find photographs, graphs, maps, video and sound clips.

History Resource Centre

Student Resource Centre

Recommended Websites

Back to top

 News Media

Australia New Zeland Reference Centre click here to access from home

Knowledge Basket

Library Press Display click here to access from home

Recommended Websites

Back to top

 Science and Health

Health and Wellness Resource Centre and Alternative Health Module

Proquest Science Journals 

Recommended Websites

Back to top



New Titles General Enquiry